Personal View site logo
Bad design: Ikea furniture - saving on everything to get record profits
  • 8 Replies sorted by
  • actually it's way better than chipboard...this doesn't curve and it's lighter...all the doors are made like this..

• @sebolla

But it is much worse than normal wood.

No, not all doors are made like this. Some of my doors have solid wood inside. And all else are just solid oak wood.

• sorry but i worked as a carpenter for 20 years...all the furniture nowdays are made of chipboards inside apart some made by artisans on request and not on industrial scale....normal wood would curve as the time pass...antique furniture were made of wood and they are fantastic but pricey

• IKEA has many options for solid wood and birch. Ivar, for example, is solid pine. It's a fully modular system, you can break it down if you move a reassemble it in a different pattern fitting your new place. The honeycomb structures use less raw materials. But, if you don't like it, you can get solid wood. The solid pine dressers are very nice. We have IKEA stuff that is 50 years old and looks new. The $5 dollar garlic press is an excellent deal, and I also recommend the stainless steel pans. You can get their version of the Le Creuset iron pans and pots for next to nothing and they are basically the same.

Since they deliver now, I loaded up on 12 volt lights and Ladda batteries, the batteries are super. They also make a very solid and very short plug strip which is great for video gigs, super cheap. There's lots of stuff from Ikea that I would never buy, of course, and we get the solid wood stuff.

• @sebolla

all the furniture nowdays are made of chipboards inside apart some made by artisans on request and not on industrial scale.