Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
Canon 5D Mark III topic
  • 240 Replies sorted by
  • Hi my dears.... I step in. Sorry for my bad english, I'm Italian, I hope the message will arrive nonetheless. I was really waiting for the 5D3, like a lot of us. I'm an hybrid photographer, interaction, video and still. Together. I dedicated last 14 years to develop and push further panoramic interactive pictures, so my needs for a camera are peculiar and narrowed. So that my biggest blessing were always the HACKS, needed to transform a camera in a "special" tool. I own Nikon, Canon, FF and APSC, Sony, Panasonic and Olympus... I did serious paid jobs with hacked Canon compact cameras! In a FF hybrid I'd love to have as many GOOD pixel I can get, the best dynamic possible, the best results possible between iso 100 and 800, an usable 1600-3200, the best, cleanest and usable video out. On axis tripod socket, full tethering and small size are NOT an option. I will need to touch, try and stress 5D3 to know what it is good for, as well as D800 and D800E. From the paper the D800 wins, no match. But if it is true the moire in video is so bad, and if it is so even in the "clean" hdmi... well, no way. Today a 5D2 with magic lantern hack IS a a wonderful tool!!! Will it still be better than 5D3? And GH2 with hack is the right complement, being more videocamera and less moviecamera, filling different gaps and situations. So.. let's relax and WAIT for the results, for the v.1.1 firmwares, for the field tests we will do.