Personal View site logo
Panasonic G3 Stable Settings
  • I managed to fix the writing error on the previous patches messing with the buffer size. Actually I put 170M bitrate and the small shootings I made really passed through with no errors! Since I am still learning about those settings, I would like to ask someone to analyze the data and see if I really got it. Annexed goes my patch.

I based my settings over Driftwood cluster v6 settings.

• 72 Replies sorted by
  • I tried your buffer settings.. All is good, no write errors but camera is freezing sometimes... I noticed this issue on bitrates over 45M... with AQ on it's freezing over 40M i think...

• Yeah, I noticed that too @JOFO today I made some shooting and I saw the failure. Well I also noticed a "heating effect", after the first error I goes fine with longer videos. Only in the very first shoot it stops because of the card speed. Have you analyzed the videos you made? How's the bitrate?

• I have tested 70M option without AQ and bitrate averages around 35M (min 14M max 70M). I have not parsed 170M sample as I'm back to 45M settings.

• I tried your ini on G3, and found the video produced to be still 1080i, with much higher bit rates. Is it possible to shoot 1080p?

• @tiesuoqiao: It's 1080 25p/30p encapsulated in 50i/60i container...

• Is there a way to unwrap the container and get the 25p/30p inside?

• @tiesuoqiao I don`t really know if that is possible. Hope someone else can help. By the way @JOFO is it possible to change the ini so we can have also 60p?

• as i know, sensor output is 25p/30p so there isn't any chance to get 50p/60p on G3. Maybe it could be done via hack, but I don't give it big probability... @tiesuoqiao: if you treat video files as 25p it should be fine

• @luisnando , I tried using your setting but having card writing issue at AVCHD 1080i FSH. No writing issue with 720 SH. I'm using Sandisk Extreme Pro 95MB/s SDHC-1 8GB.