Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
BMD Pocket Cinema Camera Stereoscopic Collaboration
  • 117 Replies sorted by
  • I've identified the possible FPGA clock pins (see pic) - the green ones 'GCLK' (global clock inputs) are the most likely. As I understand it, only a single pin needs to be used, in which case it's going to be a P_GCLK (positive).

I then worried about how a 32 kHz clock can drive an FPGA in any useful way (you'd expect them to run in the mHz range), so I studied the Spartan-6 clocking options: http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/user_guides/ug382.pdf

Good news and bad news:

• the chip can (optionally) multiply the clock internally, so it is possible that it slaves to the slow input clock.

• it can also (optionally) use its own internal oscillator, which only needs to be stimulated by an incoming clock until it's locked in. After that it's free-running, so it would be subject to drift between bodies, with no way to synchronize!

As both are optional (the chip can be configured in a zillion different ways), it totally depends on how BM is using it. The PDF mentions that in video applications, the incoming clock is often a slow pixel clock, and is then multiplied up internally. So there's a good chance we can sync it.

I'm buying an oscilloscope so that when I (eventually) open one up, I can see what the clocks are doing. It will be a while before I do though, I don't want to void the warranties until I'm sure that the sensors etc. are completely fine.

spartan6_LX75_clockpins.gif
    1052 x 1392 - 134K